Blog Tour ~ Anti-Stepbrother by Tijan (@TijansBooks) includes Derna’s review, Excerpt & Giveaway

anti stepbrother book tour.jpg

I came to college with daydreams about being with my stepbrother, but what would happen if I fell in love with the anti-stepbrother instead?


anti stepbrother cover

He told me to ‘settle, girl.’
He asked if ‘something was wrong with me?’
He said I was an ‘easy target.’
That was within minutes when I first met Caden Banks.
I labeled him an *sshole, but he was more than that. Arrogant. Smug. Alpha.
He was also to-die-for gorgeous, and my stepbrother’s fraternity brother.
Okay, yes I was a little naive, a tad bit socially awkward, and the smallest amount of stalker-ish, but if Caden Banks thought he could tell me what to do, he had another thing coming.
I came to college with daydreams about being with my stepbrother, but what would happen if I fell for the anti-stepbrother instead?

unspecified-4anti stepbrother teaser 3
purchaselinksab
iBooks ~  Nook ~ Kobo ~  Amazon Paperback (September 12th delivery)


myreviewabunspecified-6

***I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***

Anti-Stepbrother was the first book that I by Tijan, and I’m slightly kicking myself that I did pick up one of her books sooner. I knew of her and from what I had heard she is an excellent author, and I have some of her books on my Kindle, and I just hadn’t got round to reading them yet. However, after reading Anti-Stepbrother, I have a feeling this will change.

This book was engaging and emotional read about Loss, friendship, love and realization. It had the right amount of angst and drama. The charters were not perfect, but they were not overly flawed. Summer was a great character sassy, but also a little shy. She has a great sense of humor, which was witty, dry and sarcastic, at times a girl after my own heart.

I liked Caden Banks and was pleased that he wasn’t a bad boy per se, he’s a good guy who was dealing with his own family drama. I love the friendship that developed between it was cute and heartwarming it wasn’t rushed, and they seemed to share an understanding of what the other one wanted and needed.

“You seem to need a friend. You’re in luck. I could use one myself”

“Whatever this was, whatever was going on with us, it would be worth it.”

Overall, I enjoyed this book, I was a little hesitant when I saw the word stepbrother just because they all seemed to be the same. However, seeing who the author was, made me decided that I should give this one ago and I so glad I did. I like Tijan writing style natural and flawless. The story did not end on a cliffhanger, but as there was no epilogue, it means that the author could revisit theses characters again in the future if she wanted to.

Fans of Tijan and New Adult book will not be disappointed

unspecified


ReadAnExcerpt

He wasn’t looking at me any more. I wasn’t even sure he was really in the room.
I needed to leave this alone. He had given me the clues—looking away, his jaw clenching, pain like I’d never heard from him sounding loud and clear. My instincts were telling me to shut up, but I couldn’t. I had this burning need to know more about Caden. I needed to get in there, past his walls, and I wanted to understand him.
I wanted to help him.
Caden was hurting, and I wanted to take that away.
“What happened?”
Caden turned his gaze to me now, and I felt branded by the pain I saw. His eyes were stricken. “Does it matter?”
“No.” My breath caught and held in my chest. I wanted to go to him, but I also wanted to slink away. I was stirring up his pain, but I had to know. “What happened, Caden?”
“Why do you have to know?”
“Because it’s hurting you.”
I made a decision, though I had no idea what the ramifications were going to be. I stood, my legs going numb and my stomach clenching, and I moved to his side. He leaned back, his head falling to the couch, and he watched me.
The need to ease some of his hurt outweighed the fear of what would happen next. Swallowing tightly, I stepped over to straddle him and sat down.
“What are you doing?”
He asked that softly, still holding his beer. I took it from his hands and put it on the stand next to the couch. Then I just sat there. He had to do the rest. I’d already made the first move.
I glanced down at his hands, feeling like an idiot. “What happened?”
“Why are you pushing this?”
I looked back up to find confusion warring with need in his eyes. He wasn’t pushing me away, so I sank further into his lap.
“You haven’t told anyone else about this.” It wasn’t really a question, but I saw the confirmation in his eyes. My chest tightened, thinking about whatever secret he held. “Please tell me.”
“No.” He shifted forward, and I braced myself, expecting him to push me away. He didn’t. His hands grasped the backs of my legs and lifted me so I was more fully on his lap.
I could feel him between my legs, and my breasts almost pressed against his chest. I waited. I wanted to see what else he’d say
“But not because I don’t want you to know,” he added. “Because it’s not my secret to tell.”
I nodded, my stomach doing somersaults now. “That makes sense. I can respect that.”
And there we were. His hands cupped my ass, and the pain in his gaze became something darker, something I felt too, something that began to turn off all rational thought.
“What are we doing here?” he questioned, his voice like a caress in itself.
I leaned forward, my gaze lingering on his lips. “I didn’t really think it through.”
“And now?”
“Still not thinking it through.”
“You’re okay with that?”
In that moment, the truth exploded in me. I wanted him. I wanted this—but it was more. I needed this.
I didn’t answer.
I closed the distance between us.


unspecified-9Click here now for the chance to win an $50 Amazon Gift Card


abouttheauthorabtijan bio

I didn’t begin writing until after undergraduate college. There’d been storylines and characters in my head all my life, but it came to a boiling point one day and I HAD to get them out of me. So the computer was booted up and I FINALLY felt it click. Writing is what I needed to do. After that, I had to teach myself how to write. I can’t blame my teachers for not teaching me all those years in school. It was my fault. I was one of the students that was wishing I was anywhere but at school! So after that day, it took me lots of work until I was able to put together something that resembled a novel. I’m hoping I got it right since someone must be reading this profile! And I hope you keep enjoying my future stories.

 Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads


 

AIbEiAIAAABECJuq2J2K2vGPxwEiC3ZjYXJkX3Bob3RvKihlNTNkYjNiZWY5Yzg3MzcxNzM0ZjY0ZTk0MGY1MmE3YmRmNjg5YWQ0MAF4FGs-LKmiuOXIPUCvpw4VGJfvzg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s